It is currently 19. Sep 2017, 22:41

Tools: Calendar Calendar   Games Games   Gallery Gallery   Downloads Downloads   

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

AuthorMessage
 Post subject: Boot Floppy for non booting USB system
PostPosted: 22. Apr 2009, 21:41 

I know it's noted as one of the future developments for Dotsch/UX but has anyone managed to successfully use a boot floppy to boot the OS installed on a USB stick?

I have a couple of old systems I would like to do this on. As a complete noob to any sort of Linux, I feel a little out of depth it trying to make one. I'm still trying to find out why Dotsch/UX wont detect or mount my installed floppy disk drive.

If anyone has a working disk that they use I would love an image of the disk or some very good instructions (for a complete novice) on how to create one.

By the way I have to say I'm impressed with the OS that Dotsch has packaged just for Boinc projects, I had a little trouble setting up the network, I have a DHCP router, but I ended up inputting the details manually.

Cheers
Rich

Post subject: Re: Boot Floppy for non booting USB system
PostPosted: 23. Apr 2009, 03:45 

I would guess the problem is something that's in common with Ubuntu.

Take a look here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=155179

After seeing your message I was playing around with an Ubuntu v8.10 computer that I have (had) and it wasn't recognizing the FDD either but I'm not sure that the FDD in that thing was any good. Before I could get too far with it a guy that had called earlier came by and bought the computer. That was the only box I had with a FDD in it. Maybe somebody else here has a box with a FDD but the Ubuntu forums are probably a better bet. I'd do some googling for "can't mount floppy, ubuntu".

PS: One thing to check is to make sure your floppy isn't formatted NTFS.

PostPosted: 26. Apr 2009, 13:49 

I have not found a way of for the boot floppy to boot a USB stick in the moment. - But it's still in my work queue.