It is currently 19. Sep 2017, 22:32

Tools: Calendar Calendar   Games Games   Gallery Gallery   Downloads Downloads   

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ] Go to page  Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 12. Mar 2009, 22:31 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
Ups, sorry, made a typo. Should be "sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.100". Could you please retry the both commands again :
sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.100
sudo route add default gw 192.168.1.1


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 12. Mar 2009, 22:31 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 19
Gender: None specified
Hi SCi,

You have "sudo ifconfig eth 192.168.1.100", should it be "sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.100" ?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 12. Mar 2009, 23:42 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
Retried both commands

Got no output in terminal window

Still got red x on network panel icon

Tried firefox, no internet.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 13. Mar 2009, 00:36 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
SciTechGrid wrote:
Retried both commands

Got no output in terminal window

Still got red x on network panel icon

Tried firefox, no internet.

Yes. This is the first step. Could you please post the output from the commands "ifconfig -a " and "netstat -nr" and "ping 128.32.18.189" and "traceroute 128.32.18.189".
As a have written in my previous postings, you can not trust the network monitor !


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 13. Mar 2009, 09:54 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
Sorry, I have spent the best part of a week on this.

I know there are problems with Network Manager and Network Monitor but they are not the problem here, it is a problem during installation that needs addressing.

I tried Xubuntu 8.10 x64 last night and again it installed and ran with no problems. ethernet is there, I can access the internet etc.

I have downloaded 1.1 x64 3 times from Dotsch's ftp and from Andy's http incase there was any problems with the download and tried all 3 installing from Grub and the Live Cd without any success.

I have now tried 3 different versions of Ubuntu x64 - Ubuntu, Kubuntu and Xubuntu - which use their own versions of network managers, installing direct from the Grub Menu and from the Live CD, in all 6 installs the install completes correctly, the Cd ejects, ethernet works and I can access the internet without running any scripts or entering any settings.

You need to go back and check the install scripts, preseeds etc as the installation doesn't run correctly.

I suspect somewhere after partitioning and either during or after package install the script is broken either by a missing, broken or incorrect package or a bad or missing command in the script.

I will happily test Dotsch again once these problems have been addressed, please contact me when you have a new iso for testing.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 13. Mar 2009, 14:38 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
Sorry, it's absolutly not helpfull for me to debug the issues, when you did not provide me the requested output and permanently complain that it works on ...ubuntu but not on Dotsch/UX. I can't reproduce this issue on my systems and so I need your output and more facts to debug it.
A other user has written some hints in a other thread. I guess that he has found the root cause. But without any output from your side I am not able to help you to fix the problems on your system...


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 13. Mar 2009, 16:27 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
I am obviusly wasting my time here.

I have installed 4 different versions of Ubuntu, three have installed correctly and on reboot everything works without any manual settings, 1 doesn't.

Therefore it is reasonable to asume that it is not a hardware issue and that it is a problem with the install and it would make sense to rebuild the iso checking scripts, presseeds and packages etc.

And I do not "complain that it works on ... ubuntu" I am pointing out that Dotsch is based on the same install but that whatever changes have been made have broken the install.

Sorry for trying to help

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 13. Mar 2009, 22:05 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
SciTechGrid wrote:

Therefore it is reasonable to asume that it is not a hardware issue and that it is a problem with the install and it would make sense to rebuild the iso checking scripts, presseeds and packages etc.

And I do not "complain that it works on ... ubuntu" I am pointing out that Dotsch is based on the same install but that whatever changes have been made have broken the install.

Sorry for trying to help

Dotsch/UX is a indipendent Linux distribution, which is based on Ubuntu. It's not a Ubunutu clone with a BOINC client. So I have decision to remove a buggy tool or tools which I did not like, like the Network Manager from ubuntu, to remove them.
If you do not mail me the output I have requested several times, I can not help you in any way.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Network problems
PostPosted: 22. Mar 2009, 15:36 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
I've added a workinstruction for the final solution for the DHCP client problem to the chapter 4 of the documentation on my homepage.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Network problems
PostPosted: 5. Apr 2009, 23:05 
User avatar

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 66
Location: Republic of Texas, Central
Gender: Male
chapter 4:
Quote:
• DHCP adderesses would been not automaticly assigned in Dotsch/UX 1.1. Workaround : Edit the config file
/etc/network/interfaces and add the statement „auto ethX“ before each iface statement, save the file and reboot the
system. For example a fixed config file :
auto lo
iface lo iface lo inet loopback
auto eth0
auto eth0 iface eth0 dhcp
auto eth1
auto eth1 iface eth0 dhcp


I think the last line s/b (but have no easy way to test it):

Code:
auto eth1 iface eth1 dhcp

_________________
- da shu @ the BOINC farm, SkipsJunk, Guru Mountain
- BoincDV is on-line! Click HERE
Phillip Warren Anderson works on my RAM & CPU problems


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ] Go to page  Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


 Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
 
cron