It is currently 20. Oct 2017, 09:06

Tools: Calendar Calendar   Games Games   Gallery Gallery   Downloads Downloads   

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ] Go to page  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
AuthorMessage
 Post subject: Network problems
PostPosted: 5. Mar 2009, 18:52 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
Have installed Dotsch 1.1 x64.

Installed ok, but can't get Ethernet or Wireless Card to work.

Had no problems with 1.0 - 32bit version.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 5. Mar 2009, 19:24 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
SciTechGrid wrote:
Have installed Dotsch 1.1 x64.

Installed ok, but can't get Ethernet or Wireless Card to work.

Had no problems with 1.0 - 32bit version.

Do you have a USB or hard disk installation or running from the CD ?
Do you use DHCP in the network, or have you assigned the IP's staticly ? - How excatly do you have assigned the IP's staticly/dynamicly in 1.1 and 1.0 ?
What network cards do you have installed ?
Could you please post the output from the command "ifconfig -a".


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 5. Mar 2009, 19:41 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
Tried installing from Ubuntu menu and from Live CD on hard disk.

Using DHCP.

Wireless needed broadcom driver installing.

Ethernet uses Marvel yukon gigabit 88E8056 Ethernet but couldn't connect to internet

- in Dotsch 1.0, Ethernet ran from startup without changing anything and I could then download Broadcom driver.

ifconfig:

th0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:60:a3:da:09
inet addr:192.168.1.100 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21d:60ff:fea3:da09/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:38 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:1812 (1.8 KB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:39 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3393 (3.3 KB) TX bytes:3393 (3.3 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:66:76:c9:47
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-0F-66-76-C9-47-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

There might be a problem with the way the installation runs as normally with a Dotsch installation or Ubuntu, when you reboot at the end, you get the Ubuntu screen with progress bar, it ejects the CD and asks to press enter when Cd removed, then continues to reboot. With Dotsch 1.0, it did this, with Dotsch 1.1, it doesn't do this, so maybe the installation isn't completeing correctly and misses some steps before getting to the end.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 8. Mar 2009, 15:20 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
SciTechGrid wrote:
th0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:60:a3:da:09
inet addr:192.168.1.100 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21d:60ff:fea3:da09/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:38 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:1812 (1.8 KB)
Interrupt:17

Do you have configured this interface by hand ? - The output looks good.
Where excatly is the problem in the ethernet config ? - Does the name resvoling working ? - Is the default router right set ?

Quote:
There might be a problem with the way the installation runs as normally with a Dotsch installation or Ubuntu, when you reboot at the end, you get the Ubuntu screen with progress bar, it ejects the CD and asks to press enter when Cd removed, then continues to reboot. With Dotsch 1.0, it did this, with Dotsch 1.1, it doesn't do this, so maybe the installation isn't completeing correctly and misses some steps before getting to the end.

Hm, I can't reproduce this. At my systems it always have worked. Have you tried to wait long enought ? - Is the shutdown progress bar shown ?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 8. Mar 2009, 21:46 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
Setting up the interface - I have tried the automatic and manual setup - in Network Tools there is nothing listed and I cannot connect to internet.

End of installation - I select reboot, I get progress bar for a while, Cd drawer doesn't open and I don't get press enter message and I wait for it to reboot.

I have redownloaded 1.1, used a different CD and still get the same result.

I have reinstalled 1.0 no probs - done nothing to set up ethernet- in Network Tools I have "Auto ETH0" listed - and can connect to Internet.

At end of installation, I select reboot, get progress bar, Cd drawer opens and get message to remove Cd and press enter, then wait for reboot.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 8. Mar 2009, 22:06 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
In Dotsch/UX 1.1 the NetworkManager is disabled per default, because this tool made only problems in the past, and mostly did not worked as it should. The fixed IPs of the interface was not persistent, showed wrong states, and does a lot of stupid things.
So I decided to write my own script for fixed IPs and use the default Unix style for DHCPing the interface IPs.
Could you please try to do a "sudo mv /etc/rc2.d/s28NetworkManager /etc/rc2.d/S28NetworkManager" and reboot your system.

I have no clue in the moment, why the reboot hang. - In my tests, I have never seen this.
What happened after the reboot ? - Where you able to boot from the installed hard disk or USB stick ?
Does this hang at shutdown also happens on the hard disk or USB installation ?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 8. Mar 2009, 22:24 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
I haven't got time to install 1.1 tonight, I will do it tomorrow afternoon and try the script.

It is a hard disk install - I can boot from the hard disk install, but still get no internet, I have tried to set up Ethernet in "Network Tools" without success.

It reboots from the hard disk install ok- but no ethernet still.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 8. Mar 2009, 22:36 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
SciTechGrid wrote:
I haven't got time to install 1.1 tonight, I will do it tomorrow afternoon and try the script.

It is a hard disk install - I can boot from the hard disk install, but still get no internet, I have tried to set up Ethernet in "Network Tools" without success.

It reboots from the hard disk install ok- but no ethernet still.

Ahm, you have 1.0 in the moment installed at the hard disk ? - The fix I have written in my last posting is to reenable the network manager is for 1.1...


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 8. Mar 2009, 22:58 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
Yes I'm using 1.0 at the moment.

As I said "I haven't got time to install 1.1 tonight, I will do it tomorrow afternoon and try the script."

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dotsch/UX 1.1
PostPosted: 9. Mar 2009, 19:03 

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 14
Gender: None specified
Tried reinstalling 1.1 Hard Disk install

from Live CD

from Grub Menu

from Grub Menu using NOAPIC

Get the same result as previos posts.

Using Live CD I also got a "GLFX.info" crash message before I started install.

I tried running the script on each of the above installs but got the message:

mv: cannot stat `/etc/rc2.d/s28NetworkManager': No such file or directory.

Neither running from the Live CD or the 3 installs enables Ethernet.

Ubuntu screen and Progress bar comes up at end of install but when it gets to the end it just restarts computer, it doesnt eject Cd and ask to press Enter.

Finally, reinstalled 1.0, Ethernet start at first boot, no setting up needed.

PS just started to download the standard x64 Ubuntu iso and will install later, to see if its the Dotsch install or a hardware issue. I know that Kubuntu 8.10 x64 works fine but it will at least rule out an issue with the hardware.

_________________
Image


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ] Go to page  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


 Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
 
cron