It is currently 19. Sep 2017, 22:45

Tools: Calendar Calendar   Games Games   Gallery Gallery   Downloads Downloads   

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

AuthorMessage
 Post subject: New to Ubuntu, need some assistance
PostPosted: 20. Jun 2009, 20:28 

Hi,
I have a COMPAQ Desktop EVO, P3 733, with 384MB RAM.

I had Windows 2000 on it, but the number crunching with SETI was slow.

So, I decided to try Dotsch/UX. I have installed the system on the hard drive, but as I have never used Linux before, not sure what to do now.

I cannot access the Internet, nor my D-Link router at 192.168.0.1.

Me thinks that the OS does not see the Network Card, which Windows 2000 had no problem detecting and using.

Looking forward to constructive assistance.

Thanks from Joe

Post subject: Re: New to Ubuntu, need some assistance
PostPosted: 23. Jun 2009, 02:19 

Open a terminal (Applications --> Accessories --> Terminal) and enter this command:

Code:
ifconfig -a

Post the output back here.

The other thing that would be helpful to see is the contents of the file:

/etc/network/interfaces

If you could also post that I think we can make short work of this problem.

Skip

PS: BTW, assuming this is a wired NIC card (not wireless) it's probably just a configuration problem not a hardware recognition problem. The release of Ubuntu that this version of Dotsch/UX is based on had some NIC config problems that were quickly fixed but unfortunately you'd need network access to get the fix. I think we can get you past this. Since you are posting I assume you have another computer or have the computer set up to dual boot.

PostPosted: 24. Jun 2009, 02:22 

boinc@dotsch-desktop:~$ ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:a5:25:08:e1
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback