It is currently 19. Sep 2017, 22:42

Tools: Calendar Calendar   Games Games   Gallery Gallery   Downloads Downloads   

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
AuthorMessage
 Post subject: ramzswap
PostPosted: 11. May 2009, 00:50 
User avatar

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 66
Location: Republic of Texas, Central
Gender: Male
Can anyone tell me where/how to configure ramzswap.

It appears that Dotsch/UX is somehow executing:
Code:
use_ramzswap.sh

Which sets it to default of 25% of physical RAM and no backup

I want to lower it from 25% to 5% and use /dev/sda1 as it's HDD backup swap, letting ramzswap manage /dev/sda1. Normally this would be done with:
Code:
use_ramzswap.sh 204800 /dev/sda1

But I can not find the use_ramzswap.sh script anyplace!!!

_________________
- da shu @ the BOINC farm, SkipsJunk, Guru Mountain
- BoincDV is on-line! Click HERE
Phillip Warren Anderson works on my RAM & CPU problems


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ramzswap
PostPosted: 14. May 2009, 01:35 
User avatar

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 66
Location: Republic of Texas, Central
Gender: Male
Dotsch,

While I can see this might be a good thing to have in place for a diskless-client with under 1 GB of RAM it certainly seems it should not be in place for a normal Ubuntu HDD installed OS (the server).

I'm afraid somebody is going to have to create a couple 2.6.27-7 initrd.*.gz replacement files in order to really remove this from the clients.

It also seems Ubuntu caught the ramzswap project in an interim stage where parts of it were renamed to ramzswap and other parts of it are still called compcache.

See this thread for removal instructions:
https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-users/2009-February/174405.html

It boils down to this:
Code:
sudo rm /usr/share/initramfs-tools/conf.d/compcache
and
Code:
sudo update-initramfs -u

I suspect a reboot is required afterwards but I forgot to do
Code:
swapon -s
prior to rebooting to see if it was already gone. It definitely was gone after rebooting.

_________________
- da shu @ the BOINC farm, SkipsJunk, Guru Mountain
- BoincDV is on-line! Click HERE
Phillip Warren Anderson works on my RAM & CPU problems


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ramzswap
PostPosted: 26. May 2009, 03:03 
User avatar

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 66
Location: Republic of Texas, Central
Gender: Male
EXCEPT.... on a diskless client the kernel created is NOT the one that it boots from! As you know that's in /Diskless/tftpboot/.

Lars, Can you post a replacement for this... I'm GUESSING it's "initrd.x64.gz" or post instructions to create it from the initrd.img-2.6.27-7-generic in $hostname/boot/ after removing the ramzswap in that?

_________________
- da shu @ the BOINC farm, SkipsJunk, Guru Mountain
- BoincDV is on-line! Click HERE
Phillip Warren Anderson works on my RAM & CPU problems


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ramzswap
PostPosted: 26. May 2009, 08:02 
User avatar

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 66
Location: Republic of Texas, Central
Gender: Male
Or for the immediate need, can you tell me were in the start up (rc) I can insert a script I found that disables compcache and then rmmods out the 3 components of it?

_________________
- da shu @ the BOINC farm, SkipsJunk, Guru Mountain
- BoincDV is on-line! Click HERE
Phillip Warren Anderson works on my RAM & CPU problems


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ramzswap
PostPosted: 2. Jun 2009, 22:52 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
Skip and me have tested successfull tested a initramfs image without a ramdisk. The x64 initrd is availale for download at www.dotsch.de/Dotsch_UX/initramfs.x64.gz
For the installation downoad the file and copy it to /diskless/tftpboot/initrd.x64.gz and reboot the diskless clients.
A x86 version follow ASAP.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ramzswap
PostPosted: 3. Jun 2009, 08:51 
User avatar

Joined: 03.2009
Posts: 66
Location: Republic of Texas, Central
Gender: Male
In my initial quick look at the first rebooted client with the new module "free -m" showed about 46MB more of RAM available (w/ BOINC stopped). This was on a system with 2GB installed (a few MB used by on-board graphics pageframe, etc. "free" reports 1998MB total). I booted it a couple times with old / new file (renaming it back and forth with cp/mv). What free reported as in use was not consistent but with the new module there was always more RAM free / less in use.

That's about all I did to check memory usage as I was anxious to get it up and running and see if anything fell out. Didn't see anything crashing after a couple hours so I rebooted 4 other client machines and checked them again about 12 hours later. Again, didn't see anything glaring so I rebooted the last few and they've all been running with this file since at least the 31st.

Thanx much Dotsch! Extra RAM for crunching WUs is a good thing :-)

Skip

_________________
- da shu @ the BOINC farm, SkipsJunk, Guru Mountain
- BoincDV is on-line! Click HERE
Phillip Warren Anderson works on my RAM & CPU problems


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


 Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
 
cron