It is currently 22. Aug 2017, 09:22

Tools: Calendar Calendar   Games Games   Gallery Gallery   Downloads Downloads   

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
AuthorMessage
 Post subject: astropulse 5.00 macosx-ppc problems
PostPosted: 4. Dec 2008, 00:37 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 12
Location: Ingolstadt
Gender: Male
thanx again for your work and these many clients!

i've downloaded ap-5.0 osx-ppc after changing/guessing the link from your site (the link is incorrect, it links to the intel-version...)

the install with the script was fine and it started to download work and began to calc.
progress was very slow... and it ended up with "BERECHNUNGSFEHLER".

this is with power-mac-g5 2 x 2.7GHz on osx.4.11.0

same problem with mac-book.pro-c2d 2.53GHz on osx.5.5.1 (of course with the intel-version)...

any suggestions?

greetings ursmed


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: astropulse 5.00 macosx-ppc problems
PostPosted: 4. Dec 2008, 11:54 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
Thank you very much for reporting the broken link. - I have corrected it.

Your WU aborted with this failure :
Code:
In ap_gfx_main.cpp: in ap_graphics_init(): Starting client.
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::bad_alloc'
  what():  St9bad_alloc
SIGABRT: abort called

It's a known problem, when the application would be restarted. Enableing the option "leave application in memory when idle" would reduce the crashs of the application. I still have forwarded this issue to the SETI@home developers...

The Astropulse WUs needs a lot of more time, than the SETI@home application AP does a broadband analysis...
About 50..80 hours for a fast Intel Mac is normal with the offical application sources.

Btw. was the installation with the script easy and understandable ?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: astropulse 5.00 macosx-ppc problems
PostPosted: 5. Dec 2008, 01:12 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 12
Location: Ingolstadt
Gender: Male
this was the error on my intel-mac.book.pro...
the errors on my power.mac-g5 are similary. a little bit more debug-output...

i will set this option on both computers/mac's.
will see what happens and how sah-devs are handle this problem.

the script was understandable and easy to use, yes.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: astropulse 5.00 macosx-ppc problems
PostPosted: 11. Dec 2008, 20:16 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 12
Location: Ingolstadt
Gender: Male
i've set this option. but this does not solve the problem at all.
in summary i think the following are the facts with ap500, at least at osx/darwin:

- when one let the computer calc WITHOUT any interuption/pause all is fine
- when there is an interupt in calculation, an error occurs

- on my dual-g5 i didn't anything and the box calculated for a few days without any intervention - all is fine, ther is a valid ap-wu-result
- on my mbp-core2duo i did some small things, if boinc is not affected all is fine
- but then there was an os-update and with this / after this a reboot... voila... error...
- same if i "change number" of cpus (on multiproc systems use xx% of proc) - benchmark... interuption of calculation... error...

btw: will i get the credit for an invalid wu for the progress so far / until the error?

greetz ursmed


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: astropulse 5.00 macosx-ppc problems
PostPosted: 15. Dec 2008, 07:48 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 138
Gender: None specified
ursmed wrote:
i've set this option. but this does not solve the problem at all.
in summary i think the following are the facts with ap500, at least at osx/darwin:

- when one let the computer calc WITHOUT any interuption/pause all is fine
- when there is an interupt in calculation, an error occurs

- on my dual-g5 i didn't anything and the box calculated for a few days without any intervention - all is fine, ther is a valid ap-wu-result
- on my mbp-core2duo i did some small things, if boinc is not affected all is fine
- but then there was an os-update and with this / after this a reboot... voila... error...
- same if i "change number" of cpus (on multiproc systems use xx% of proc) - benchmark... interuption of calculation... error...

Eric thinks, that it could be, that it's a problem with the state file handling or eventualy a memory problem on MacOS.
I only have seen this problem sporadicly, but not every time, like on your G5 Mac.
Could you please try to increase the shared memory by add following lines to the /etc/sysctl.conf on your G5 and reboot em if it's posible :
Code:
kern.sysv.shmmax=16777216
kern.sysv.shmmin=1
kern.sysv.shmmni=128
kern.sysv.shmseg=32
kern.sysv.shmall=4096


Quote:
btw: will i get the credit for an invalid wu for the progress so far / until the error?

So far I know is the WU invalid and would not get credits.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: astropulse 5.00 macosx-ppc problems
PostPosted: 27. Jan 2009, 01:46 

Joined: 11.2008
Posts: 12
Location: Ingolstadt
Gender: Male
a new reply... have missed this one...
maybe i can try this tomorrow or at least this week.
btw: this problem occures with my dual-g5 and with my new macbook.pro...

greetings ursmed


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


 Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
 
cron